Awareness · Cancer · Family · grief · Health · November · Pancreatic Awareness Month · Pancreatic Cancer · Sisters

But seriously…

Sometimes I can be very lighthearted. I enjoy a good, hearty laugh and witty humor. Humor is good for the soul. It heals. It lightens our hearts. It releases tension.

Having said that, let me take a moment to be serious about something.

November is Pancreatic Cancer Awareness Month. I would like to take this opportunity to help bring this type of cancer to the forefront. It’s one you  may not hear of often yet it is one of the most difficult to treat. My sister, Nancy, died of pancreatic cancer in March 2013. She only lived about three months after her diagnosis. Symptoms were vague and mimicked other conditions. If she would have known more about this type of cancer perhaps she could have caught it earlier. Pancreatic cancer does not get the publicity of some of the other cancers. Chances are, you may not have even known November is the month set aside to create more awareness for this type of cancer, unlike breast cancer, which is widely publicized and where everything goes PINK during the month of October. Being a cancer survivor myself, I know firsthand that ALL cancers need more awareness. Cancer is one of the leading causes of death in the United States. It certainly deserves attention and awareness.

I urge you to read about pancreatic cancer and ALL cancers. It is important to understand symptoms and to be proactive regarding health.

Purple is the color associated with pancreatic cancer. When my sister was diagnosed, I made her several purple things, including a purple booklet of information, a purple ribbon and a purple tie blanket to keep with her at the hospital for comfort. I miss her so much. She was a great friend in addition to being a loving sister. She fought the battle with courage and bravery. She was not ready to leave her family however she was able to come to terms with dying. She knew she was dying. She had been placed with Hospice care the last few days. She believed in God. I believe  without a doubt that she’s in Heaven. I believe I will see her again. And, we’ll laugh again like we always did over the phone during our long sister talks. We would laugh until tears came oftentimes. We could always cheer each other up. There is a gap in my heart but I am learning to be at peace more every day about the loss of someone so dear to my heart.

It is so important to be aware of cancer, its various types, and overall health information. Please take the opportunity during November to read about these topics.

Thank you,

Susan

Downloads24 Me and my dear sister, Nancy. I miss her so much.

Leave a Reply

