Author · gratitude · Life · Personal Growth · Writer

Goes beyond that

Today is share-a-thought-day and I am going to participate.

Of course I made this up but I had to preface this somehow. So here goes.

Today I was thinking about things I could write about that I am thankful for, which is quite a lot. Surviving cancer, giving birth to three healthy babies once upon a time and watching them grow up, having parents who are still with me and in their 80’s, having a loving husband, days of rain and sunshine, a coat to wear when I am cold, food to eat, a bed to sleep in out of the weather, and even a computer to do my blogging from. These are just a FEW things I can list. There are so many more.

As I thought about this, I began to think about things that DO NOT exist in my life that I am thankful for.

Then I began thinking about things that DO exist in my life that may not seem like ideal or wonderful things, things that probably nobody would be thankful for (I won’t go into detail).

That’s when I began thinking about the blessings in disguise thing again (I recently blogged about that). Maybe these things that wouldn’t be likely to be thankful for are leading me to personal growth and realizations, lessons learned, a testimony to share someday, or a book or blog post to write. Whatever is in my life still makes up MY life. Perhaps I should be thankful for it all.

So, today, I am thankful for everything in my life because that is what makes me who I am and my journey unique which is the journey that God intended for me to travel, all the while becoming the pearl that He wants me to be. When I look around to list the things I am thankful for that seem happy and glad, I will go beyond that and remember there are things to be thankful for that I will never even know about and I will remember to be thankful for ALL things—-for they are what make up my life.

2 thoughts on “Goes beyond that

Leave a Reply

